S’MORES MAKER JR. PARTY

Recently I stumbled upon a website where you can apply to host parties for brands, that site is called Tryazon. A lot of brands team up with Tryazon to offer a chance for people to try their product and share with their family and friends through parties. I explored Tryazon and seen that there was a few parties available for me to apply for but, the one that really caught my eye was the S’mores Maker Jr. by Sterno party. I mean who doesn’t love a S’more? I put in my information that was needed to apply and crossed my fingers and waited to see if I was selected. A few weeks went by and I received an email congratulating me that I had been picked! I was so excited and could hardly wait for my party kit to arrive. With each party you receive a party kit, every party kit varies but one thing that all party kits seem to have in common, they are awesome and full of free goodies for you and your party guests to help your party run smoothly.

My Kit Included:

  • 2 S’more Makers (1 for the party and it was suggested to give the other one out as a door prize)
  • 2 Packs of S’mores Heat (Fuel that the S’more Maker uses to work. I kept one and put the other one aside to be included with the door prize)
  • 2 boxes of gourmet marshmallows from Plush Puffs (Caramel Swirl, Vanilla Bean were the flavors I received)
  • $10.00 Walmart gift card to purchase other party supplies (chocolate bars, wooden skewers, graham crackers, and etc.)
  • A big white envelope that had information about Plush Puffs along with a 25% off code and cards that provided more information about the S’mores Maker Jr. including new recipes to try.
party kit
S’mores Maker Jr. Party Kit from Tryazon

I didn’t have to wait too long before my Party Kit arrived. Any time I receive a package I feel like a kid at Christmas time and this time was no different. I knew what was in my party kit, Tryazon does a wonderful job with being ahead of the game, always one step ahead with sending out helpful tips and making sure that party hosts are well informed. That being said, my excitement didn’t change; I ripped open the box and made sure everything was in there. Then I snapped a picture to show off to all of my friends and family to let them know as sort of an informal invite that we were going to have a party!

I had only a week or two to plan after my box arrived and I needed every minute of that time and plus some. I encourage anyone else who applies and is approved to host a party to give yourself more time than you think you will need. I want to say that this time of year is busier than others. I had my party on May 19th school is about to be finished and everyone is having their own parties and planning for vacation I could go on and on but let’s face it we live in a busy time. It is going to be hard to get everyone together at the same time no matter when you plan a party. So, I can’t stress to you enough if you are approved to host a party like this in a future don’t be like me and wait until your box arrives start as soon as you are approved to host.

During the two weeks that I had between the time that I got my box and the weekend of the party I made a few shopping trips. First I shopped for things to entertain kids and adults who are kidlike (like me) with. I went on a Dollar Tree shopping spree. I bought packs of bubbles, fake mustaches, sparklers, water balloons, water guns, and a few other odds and ends. I also was able to get some platters to spread out the s’mores supplies, and other necessary party things like paper plates. If you are ever throwing any kind of event you can’t go wrong with the Dollar Tree it is almost a one stop shop for all of your party needs without breaking the bank. A few days before the party I went to the grocery store to pick up the chocolate bars, extra marshmallows, wooden skewers, drinks and anything else that I felt my guests may want to snack on while at the party. When looking back at my store list I wouldn’t change a thing. I had debated on grilling but took a quick look at the weather forecast for Saturday and it was giving rain. So I picked up a few Hot N Ready pizzas and was ready to roll.

 

I had my party at my grandpa’s house he is my favorite person in this world and a party isn’t a party without that man. He can’t get out much because he takes care of my grandma who has Alzheimer’s, so we brought the party to him. I don’t know of many people who get parties brought to their door step that should be a testament of how awesome of a man he is. Anyhow, I unload the vehicle and start setting things up. I sat down and was breaking the chocolate bars into squares and my grandpa comes peeping over to tell me “Sissy, don’t be wasting all of that candy”. I told him that we would be using the chocolate to make the S’mores with. It was apparent that in his nearly 90 years in this world that he has never had the pleasure of having a S’more and I was blessed with the opportunity to get to introduce him to them.

I was starting to get nervous about everything and thinking about the all of the what ifs. Like what if no one bothers to show up? What if I don’t get good enough pictures? What if I don’t have enough of this or enough of that? How in the world do I even start a party? Luckily, I didn’t have too much time to worry as guests started to arrive and without any kind of formal announcement the party began. The kids helped themselves to the toys. The toy mustaches that I had bought were ending up on everyone the young, the old, and everyone in between. Some were even running around sporting a mustache as one big unibrow. I had forgotten one crucial detail though and that was prepping the whole reason I was having this party the S’mores Maker.

Everyone was gathering around the table wondering when they could have a S’more. The most excited was my little cousin Brennan, he absolutely couldn’t wait. I quickly started to pick up the box and read how to get things started. When I opened the S’mores Maker I noticed there was already a can of S’mores heat tucked inside. I grab it and read the instructions and it was pretty simple thankfully. I pried open the lid and then carefully lit the S’mores heat with a match. I placed it back inside and replaced the top of the maker, after that we were good to go! While reading the instructions on how to use the S’mores heat I noticed that it said that it would burn for 45 minutes. I would say that is probably a conservative estimate, ours burned longer. Whenever the party had died down and all but a few had left we were still able to roast a few more marshmallows and we only had to open the one can.

brennan and ethan
Brennan with his brother Ethan. Brennan was the most excited about the S’mores Maker. He anxiously waited while I got the Maker set up and his patience paid off as you can see.

Once the S’mores Maker was up and going the pizzas and other food that I had bought for the party was pretty much neglected. The S’mores table was booming so much so that it was hard to get pictures of everyone as they were using it. It seemed like I always was being blocked by an elbow or someone’s hand reaching for a graham cracker or whatever else that they needed to make their S’more. That was fine, at least everyone was enoying themselves and putting the S’mores Maker Jr. to work. In between the random pictures of hands and elbows I did capture some pretty nice moments. I was able to witness my grandpa surrounded by a few of his great grandkids roasting marshmallows. It isn’t very often that people put down their devices and take in the moment and loved ones around them but Saturday I was able to witness it. Also, let us not forget as I mentioned before that my grandpa is nearly 90 and I was able to watch him have his first S’more, and he dawned a fake mustache while doing so none the less. That alone made my party EPIC in my eyes.

pop pop and his great grandkids
Pop-Pop with a couple of his great grandkids Brennan and Braden roasting some marshmallows with the S’mores Maker Jr. If you will notice there is not a device in sight, that alone is a miracle.
Pop Pop rocking his mustache
Pop-Pop sporting a mustache at my S’mores Maker Jr. Party

As the party moved along, my grandpa and a few people had to leave to attend a church get together. He doesn’t get to attend many things unless he has someone to sit with my grandma and since the party was still going I was more than happy for him to go and enjoy. The S’mores were still flowing and the rain that had been an issue earlier in the evening stopped so we moved the party outside. My uncle was brought out the sparklers and lit them for the kids. Brennan was equally as excited over the sparklers as he was the S’mores earlier which ended in a sore eye but all there was no major incidents, none that were 911 worthy anyhow. The S’mores Maker is light and easy to move from area to area. The outside of the Maker wasn’t hot to the touch as long as you didn’t touch the top. We moved the unit outside with us and gathered around for a group picture.

 

The group picture was like a whole other event in itself. I think that 50% of my phone storage is probably all of the retakes that we had to take just trying to get a group shot. I don’t know if it was from the sugar buzz but it seemed like we couldn’t get everyone to stay still. In the end we did two different set ups one with us all arranged in a circle with the S’mores Maker in the middle and then another with us all lined up. The pictures are nowhere near perfect, the spacing is off, probably a stray fake mustache or mustache unibrow but to me they are perfect and a perfect representation of how much fun my Motley looking Crew had.

 

We all made our way back inside thinking that we were going to be saying our goodbyes but once again me the hostess with the mostest had forgot another crucial part of my party. The door prize! I quickly gathered everyone around and we played a quick game that I had brought from home. It is a game kind of like hot potato but it is in the shape of a pig and not a potato. The pig sings but instead of the song coming to an in when someone gets caught with it, it passes gas. My 9 month old and 10 year old find it hilarious. Anyhow I pull it out and we proceed to play. It was a pretty tough battle, the pig had some pretty rough treatment being thrown around aggressively, as people didn’t want to get caught with it and end up being out of the game. Finally, we had a winner and the winner was my aunt Terra, she posed in a picture with two out of three of her boys. It is only fitting since Brennan loved the S’mores more than anyone else despite how he looks in the picture since he had a case of sparkler eye. Everyone else walked away with a full belly, tons of memories, coupons for plush marshmallows, and a card of new recipes to try when they make S’mores.

Winners
This mama and two of her boys won their very own S’mores Maker Jr. and extra pack of S’mores heat to take home. Brennan is more excited than it looks he has a case of sparkler eye.

I walked away impressed by my experience with both Tryazon and Sterno. I loved throwing my party, loved my party kit, and have Tryazon to thank for giving me this opportunity. I am super impressed with my S’mores Maker Jr. by Sterno. It was easy to clean up, easy to set up and get going, and my friends, family, and I shared so many good memories while gathered around making S’mores with it. Once the party was over I started thinking about people like my grandpa who aren’t able to leave the house very often for whatever reason how the S’mores Maker provides them with a way to roast a marshmallow and make S’mores from the comforts of their own home. The S’mores Maker is also a good way for me to be able to make S’mores without having to worry about building a fire outside. I’ve never made a fire on my own and am always afraid of trying to maintain it. Being a busy mom of two, at the end of most days I don’t feel like making a fire even if I felt comfortable doing so.

featured image
Whether you like your marshmallow nearly burned (like me) or lightly toasted, the S’mores Maker Jr. has you covered.

If you are interested in hosting browsing a list of upcoming parties and applying to host you can do so here – http://www.tryazon.com

If you are interested in checking out the S’mores Maker Jr. by Sterno you can do so here – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CCK6LXQ

Leave a comment